In loving memory of Mary Elizabeth Everly Hull who nourished the vitality of the Saratoga Lake Sailing Club (SLSC).


Mary Elizabeth was an active member of SLSC from 1976 to the time of her death on September 10, 1991.  She volunteered for the Junior Sailing Program, chaired the Social Committee and managed Membership for many years.  She was elected Flag Lt. House, Rear Commodore, Vice Commodore and Commodore.


Mary Elizabeth was an enthusiastic sailor who competed aboard Windmills, and later, Thistles.  The members of SLSC knew Mary Elizabeth for her gracious beauty and welcoming smile.  She was a people person and friendly to all.  Her presence at the club made SLSC a happy home.


The Commodore’s Award recognizes a special person(s) whose outstanding contributions to SLSC have improved and sustained the life of SLSC.


Eligibility:  Any past or present member of SLSC, of any age, male or female, may be considered for the Commodore’s Award.


Selection:  The recipient of the Commodore’s Award is chosen by the preceding year’s Commodore.  The Commodore may form a selection committee, or choose the recipient on his or her own.  The award may be presented annually if a worthy recipient is chosen.


Presentation:  The Commodore’s Award is presented by the preceding year’s Commodore at the Commodore’s Party held annually in March.  The description of the award should  be read.  Additional remarks may be made from the Mary Elizabeth Hull Memorial Statement written by Randall H. Rice, SLSC Historian in 1991.  The recipient receives the Commodore’s Award perpetual trophy for the year.


The Commodore’s Award was presented to the following SLSC members:


2020 - Andrew Murnan

2019 - Barbara Miller

2018 - Margaret Shirk and Dan Mehlman

2017 - Aaron Holland

2016 - John Smith

2015 - Melissa Hatch and Greg Tkal

2014 - Kathleen Johnston

2013 - Mark Welcome

2012 - Charlie and Kathy Koines

2011 - Bill and Yvonne Barringer

2010 - Emmett McCarthy

2009 - Victor Roberts

2008 - Menno Burmeister

2007 - Ray Biedron

2006 - James Benson

2005 - Shirley Waterfield

2004 - Jean Liska

2003 - Allan and Mary Jean Tedrow

2002 - Ann K. Seidman

2001 - Bill and Janet Hamilton

2000 - Harry Redgrave

1999 - Nancy and Bruce Blackie

1998 - Garth and Jean Grimmer

1997 - David and Trudy Hudson

1996 - Randall and Elly Rice

1995 - Hunter Currin

1994 - Allan Miller

1993 - Jerry Burr

1992 - John Hudson